Amity

out of this world

bedevil

image
Image : google

I have got a snake in my skull,
It is eating up my brain
I do not mind, you see
The snake will be my brain.

I gave the dog my bone
It’s just my tibia, you see
I got more than enough 
I don’t mind sparing one.

I told the lion off,
it ate half my bruised heart,
I do not mind, you see
I’ll replace it with iron.

I fed the cat my blood
Just a pint, you see
It loves it more than milk
It’s organic and red.

I did see the Eagle
before It plucked my eye
My twitching left eye
It never said thank you.

I dived into the sea.
I fed me to the shark,
The most reluctant shark
It ate me with no pleasure.

Amity4 🔏

Single Post Navigation

12 thoughts on “bedevil

  1. Oreoluwa Aboluwarin on said:

    This makes me sad Amity.

    However,
    In the last two verses,
    I wonder if the human did mind by then, that:

    An eye was plucked out – a lasting blemish
    Whole essence was gobbled up – the very end of life.

    I wonder if the human just gave up finally on her own accord, perhaps after bits of her brain, heart and blood had already been taken and she saw no reason to keep going.

    Lol. Just musing.

    Beautiful writing. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • We are so sorry sir
      we did not intend to wipe off your smile.
      But such is the life of some,
      They give it all up ‘cos they got nothing to live for.
      Thanks for stopping by and sharing your thought on this.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. ‘Bedeviling’ is most definitely spooky and pretty diabolical, somewhat hilarious, and morbidly so too…the horror! LOL

    It does sound like the ruminations of a totally damaged person at the end of his/her rope; one who’s far gone….. past and the over the edge and there’s just no coming back from it, no salvation in plain sight; or maybe not! Josephine Hart surmises that ‘damaged people are dangerous for the sole reason that they KNOW they’d survive’! So then, who’s to say that like Jonah who was spewed out of the underbelly of the Whale after three days, that our Narrator wouldn’t undergo the same divine experience ei?! Afterall, even the Shark….unreluctant; finds him/her an unsavoury or shall I say unpalatable delight….’unscrumptious’! LMAO!

    I do like this a lot Amity, it pretty much defines a person on a self-destructive and suicidal mission to a ‘T’! Sometimes in life, when hope’s a-dim and diminishing, we be like….’If I die, I die’! One who’s got nothing to lose, and that includes life…..has got absolutely nothing to lose! A total state of helplessness and hopelessness! Kudos on this one dear; its really very unique! Thumbs up! πŸ‘πŸ‘πŸ˜„

    Liked by 2 people

    • Oreoluwa Aboluwarin on said:

      This is πŸ‘Œ
      Amity said to me you’re the queen of words. She wasn’t lying. πŸ™‚

      Liked by 2 people

      • Aww! Thank you sooo much Sir, am totally bowled over by you! LOL

        Plus, pay Amity no mind; she gives me wayyyy too much credit than am truly deserving of! πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

        Liked by 2 people

    • Spooky it is and so on point are you.πŸ‘ŒπŸ‘πŸ‘πŸ‘πŸ‘Š
      As for our narrator experiencing Jonah’s salvation , you might just be right
      Not all sucide are successful as we have come to learn.
      Thanks you so much.πŸ˜‡
      You rock😚😚😚

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Wow…what a powerful poem, Amity. I love it. πŸ™‚ -phoebe

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Spookiness of the highest order. Well done Amity.πŸ‘Œ

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Dark and gloomy!
    Having a heart of iron, the narrator will feel no more pain..
    Having a snake for a brain, she becomes sly and dangerous
    I do not think she is suicidal,
    I think she is metamorphosizing
    Dying to the old self and creating a new
    Persona

    Liked by 2 people

    • Hmmm. 😊😊😊This is another interesting angle but in the end our narrator dived into the sea.
      What say thou?😣
      Thanks for reading and dropping your thought πŸ˜‰

      Like

Leave a Reply

