Amity

out of this world

Ibo boy 

I am in love.

I am in love with an Ibo boy.

An American Ibo boy

Who stays down my street.

Not the boy

but his Americanized- Ibo accent.

No.

His voice.

his  adenoidal voice

with a perfect modulation

sweet music to my ears.

I’ll trade my heart to hear him speak

I give my soul if that is what it take

to have an autograph of his voice on the plate of my heart.

I am in love.

I am in love with an Ibo boy

who does not know it yet

My own American Ibo boy

Who speaks through his nose .

***

(IBO: an ethnic group of southeastern Nigeria

Single Post Navigation

33 thoughts on “Ibo boy 

  1. The voice is so refreshing… blown away! Of all the poems and poets on wordpress, I’m stoked to have found ya. Will be reading more. Cheers ~

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Guido on said:

    Nice. Ibo boys are cool.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. What’s with gurls and voices?
    So sweet you would trade your heart and give your soul?
    I’m weak…

    Aura over voice here. 😉

    Nice piece. I guess Yoruba boys don’t move you. Hian!

    Liked by 2 people

  4. Everything about this poem reminds me of something about me.

    Thanks Amity for sharing

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Nice one, I feel Amity, there is something about an American culturized ibo accent…..

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Hilarious! Playful…yet magical

    Liked by 1 person

  7. See alll the Ibo boys2men in the building forming ‘Ibo boys are cool’ thinz! Lool.

    And there’s the Yoruba boys2men beefing on the Ibo-boy-voice-crush. Heheh!

    First of all, this is a nice humorous bit! I enjoyed reading it.

    Second of all, who doesn’t love a good voice? 😀

    Welldone Amity.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Pingback: Monday Musings: Voice over Looks? | The Blogger's Blog

  9. Adeleke Julianah on said:

    Kai. See all my Ibo brothers forming “yea, na we cool pass”. If I hia! Hehehehe!!!
    Nice one Amity. Interestingly playful and engaging.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. theinkheartblog.com on said:

    The things we get attracted to…. Lool, let me start speaking through my nose, maybe someone will fall in love with me and then write me a poem… Except if it not as beautiful as Amity’s, I won’t take it

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Reblogged this on abubhaji and commented:
    Please read:

    Like

  12. Amity – I tried to reblog this, I am not sure if you need to approve. I made a new site dedicated to reblogging talent I come across, such as yourself. I messed up though and cannot re-reblog? Perhaps you need to moderate. Forgive me and advise me, please. So I can re-re-reblog this wonderful poem! Cheers~

    Liked by 1 person

  13. I find this one very funny. Nice.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

