Amity

out of this world

Change

They say that I should kill the flesh 
And I know that is true 
But when they say I have too much 
What then should I do? 

It’s easy to say all is well 
When you can’t see my war. 
Myself my scars my excess skin
My mind and so much more. 

How can you then say cheer up girl 
When my body drags me down? 
I’m told I should be comfortable 
With the insecure heart I drown. 

My past my pain it all adds up 
In this sum of rejection. 
My mirror twin I still despise 
Whenever I see her reflection. 

Have you ever been so mad 
At God for making you so?
Have you nearly lost your mind 
And thought of letting go?

Have you ever tried to fix 
And remould His design? 
But realising that it is so hard 
To change my body in time. 

I do not want to be assured 
I do not want their lies 
I do not want their fake acceptance 
Hearing me with their eyes. 

Simple words are sharpened daggers 
Stabbing my bleeding wound 
The Kadeen Sakira Thomas you know 
Has been swallowed by flesh, consumed.

They say that I should kill the flesh 
And I know that is true 
But when they say I have too much
I wish I could be made anew.

Written by Kadeen
( Kadeen loves writing poems and views it as a sort of therapy. She likes to sing and her favorite color is yellow :))

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Change

  1. Adeleke Julianah on said:

    Wow…Beautiful rendition…

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

