Amity

out of this world

Unbroken

 

I may get hurt,
cheated, abused and cut,

I may feel helpless,
because my voice is drowned out in fear,

I may shudder,as I lay sprawled in the icy comfort of my own tears,

But I’ll not be shattered,
I’ll rise, unbroken!

*

The road may be long,
Concocted with daring twists and turns,

I may grow weary in my feet,
So that soon, I sink to my knees,

I may tire,
Curse fate, and blame destiny without reprieve,

But I’ll rise still, refreshed and unbroken!

**

Love may fail,
So bad that I swear to never feel again,

I may grow impatient of listening to promises,
Too flimsy and mere to believe,

I may hold back from love,
So all you see in my eyes now is a stone- cold glare,

But I’ll never cower, I’ll move on unbroken!

***

People may come and go,
Too quickly, I fear I will always be alone,

And I may shut my eyes so tight,
That I don’t even see when a stranger spares me a smile,

But I’ll not waver even when my soul screams for release,
No, I will not, because I will always stand unbroken.

****
Author: Da More aka Short Black Girl.

Apart from being a short, black girl, she’s a graduate of Accounting, an erratic writer on the sidelines, a lover of love and an ardent believer. Thanks for reading!

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Unbroken

  1. “I may shudder,as I lay sprawled in the icy comfort of my own tears” lovely lines
    the human heart is strong and resilent, if we allow it to be

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

